Feeling Better, Feeling Worse

I didn’t realize how much better I felt after the baby was born, and perhaps whole pregnant.  Perhaps the fatigue was different.  I had thrown myself into boyscouts and 4-H, had returned to work.  Then, suddenly, in August,  the migraines returned.   Then I started back on my migraine prophylaxis.   The first time I started on it, I had suffered a migraine for 2 years.  Yes, I wrote that correctly,  a migraine for 2 years, not migraines for 2 years.  I was in the emergency room every 2 weeks.  Any relief was better than the migraine.  So I didn’t notice any side-effects.  This time, I hadn’t had a severe migraine in a very long time, so when I started back on the topiramate,  the side-effects were life-altering.  The fatigue is over-whelming.  Let’s add to that, my personal conclusion that I don’t have fibromyalgia, I have migraines,  all my fibromyalgia symptoms are actually from the migraines or the medications.   I didn’t suffer overwhelming fatigue until I started back on the topiramate or after a migraine.  I’m not in a lot of pain (except for my back) except before & during a migraine. When the migraines are coming one on top of the other, the before, during, and after symptoms all collide.

Leave a Reply

